If you’ve been in a car accident, you might be dealing with a large pile of bills. From repairs on your vehicle to medical payments, you likely will want to start paying off what you owe as soon as possible. If you were not the at-fault driver, you are entitled to compensation from the other driver’s insurance company.
How Do I Request Compensation From an Insurance Company?
After you’re safe from the accident, you need to contact your car insurance company. The company will initiate an investigation into who was at fault for the accident, as will the insurance company of the other driver. If you were not at fault, you can file a claim with the other driver’s insurance company to request compensation for damages.
Contacting a car accident lawyer to assist you with filing your claim is the best way to ensure it is done right. For example, often, claims are denied because they lack sufficient information or the claimant forgot to take specific actions like notifying the companies in time or getting a necessary medical evaluation. Your lawyer has a detailed understanding of how to file an error-free claim so that you have the highest chance of a positive outcome.
Your lawyer can also negotiate on your behalf and help you address any accusations from the other insurance company or the other driver. Often, they will try to convince you to admit you are at fault so they don’t have to pay. Your attorney will know how to deal with this and how to use strong evidence to prove that you were not at fault.
How Long Does the Claim Take?
In Georgia, there is a statute of limitations on filing a claim with an auto insurance company. You have two years from the date of the accident (or the date when you discovered an injury from the accident) to file your claim.
Once you have filed, the insurance company has 15 days to acknowledge that they have received your claim. They also have a 15-day period to send you proof of loss forms to complete and instructions on how to complete them. Once you fill out the forms and send them back, the company will have another 15 days to decide if they accept your claim. If proof of loss forms aren’t necessary, the insurance company still has 30 days to make a decision and may request additional time, which gives them up to 60 days from the date you filed. If the insurance company accepts your claim, they have another ten days to pay you. If everything goes well, you will get your money then. In some cases, the insurance company might deny your claim.
What to Do if Your Claim Gets Denied
You might be frustrated and discouraged if you find that the insurance company denied your claim. However, you shouldn’t give up just yet, as you still have options to pursue compensation. First, it is important to understand why your claim was denied. Read the denial letter carefully so you understand what happened. In some cases, you might have a reason to dispute their reasons, in which case you can follow the company’s process or appeal the claim.
In serious cases, you might have to file a lawsuit against the other party. Having a car accident lawyer by your side throughout this process is important, as they will understand what your best approach is to fight for compensation after a denied claim.
Contact a Knowledgeable Car Accident Lawyer in Georgia
At Lamar Law Office, LLC, we know how overwhelming it can be to file a claim after a car accident. We take your needs seriously, and we can walk you through the process of requesting compensation and fighting for your rights if any hurdles arise. Contact us today if you’re ready for legal support.